Welcome to the Oakdale-Riverbank-Escalon (ORE) Branch of AAUW

The Oakdale-Riverbank-Escalon Branch (ORE), founded in 1962, is committed to the educational, cultural and environmental improvement of our area as well as our world. We offer thought-provoking programs, varied interest groups and the opportunity to socialize with a diverse group of educated, interesting women. We share a common commitment to continued learning, women’s issues and community betterment.   Our common mission in AAUW is to break through barriers for women and girls. Our branch’s primary function is to support and mentor young girls from our community, beginning in junior high with Tech Trek and continuing through high school and college.

Our membership base draws from the three Central Valley towns—Oakdale (population 21,000), Riverbank (population 23,000) and Escalon (population 7000).  There are no barriers to membership based on gender, race, creed, age, sexual orientation, national origin or disability. We are privileged to share membership in the National AAUW and the California AAUW communities.

Current Events – 2017

AAUW ORE Branch Wraps Up 2016 – 2017 Year at Spring Brunch

AAUW ORE was presented with a Certificate of Honor from national AAUW recognizing our 55th Anniversary at our May Brunch.

It was a full morning honoring and recognizing a number of young women as well – our Science Fair Winner, Molly Terpstra, Scholarship winners, Anna Hawksworth-Lutzow (4-year scholarship) and Olivia Lopez (2-year) scholarship, and two enthusiastic members of last year’s Tech Trek class.

Sixth Grader, Molly T. our Science Fair winner talked about “Fresh Veggies, How Clean Are They?”

4-year Scholarship Winner, Anna H-L. of Oakdale High School will be attending UC, Santa Cruz

Olivia L. 2-year scholarship winner will attend Sacramento City College upon graduating from Gateway Charter Academy

Elaine Kidd thanked members of the current board, and then using a garden theme installed the 2017-2018 Directors:  Sharon Hawley-Crum, President; Jane Griffith, Program Director; Clydora Hippler, Membership Director; Bonnie Fogarty, Treasurer, Pam Wright and Gail Marganelli, Recording Secretary; Pam Wright, Public Policy Director.

Incoming Board: Pam Wright, Gail Marganelli, Sharon Hawley-Crum, Clydora Hippler, Bonnie Fogarty. Not pictured, Jane Griffith.

Individuals holding an associates degree or higher who would like information about  joining or upcoming 2017 – 2018 programs may send an email to – Clydora Hippler, stucly216@gmail.com. 


Past Events